Am I on the right path?

I was thrilled to be taking a trip downtown with the GVSU Advertising Club to take a tour of AUXILIARY Advertising & Design agency today, but was pretty upset to hear that the tour was being postponed. 😦  Looking at their website, I’m ecstatic that I’ll be able to tour their facility at a later date.  I’m fascinated by the work they’ve done and their overall take on design.  This semester I’ve started to invest myself in classes in ways I never have before.  Before deciding on an Ad/PR major, the goal was just to get a good grade..to pass the class.  Now I find myself really applying myself and trying to showcase a piece of who I am through each assignment I’m given.

aux-agency

Reference:

GVSU Advertising Club. (2016, December 8). Cancelled AUX tour [Screenshot].

Looking ahead to next semester (and even farther at the journey of my college career), I wanted to sit down with an advisor and make sure that I’m on the correct path to success for next semester and following school years to come.  I was lucky enough to score an appointment at the CLAS advising center minutes after finding out about the cancelled tour.  I met with my advisor, Doris, and discussed what my schedule should look like over the next few semesters in order to graduate in a timely manner.

IMG_9818.JPG

Reference:

Svendor, H. (2016, December 8). CLAS Advising Center [Photograph].

Being that I switched a year and a half into school, I’m a year behind.  After analyzing what classes I’ve taken and what I have left to take, I decided to switch my catalog year from 14-15 to 16-17 (I’m not really sure what this entails other than the fact that I have 3 less credits to take).  This will allow me to use a class I’ve already taken and apply it towards my major, as opposed to it being used as an elective.  I had picked up a minor in Marketing halfway through this semester but decided to drop it today and look into taking Marketing classes to apply as electives towards Ad/PR.  We discussed internships and ways for me to discover more interesting opportunities using Grand Valley’s resources.  I’ve already began to do some research on GVSU’s website and looking further into both the career fair and Laker Jobs.

Overall, I’m really proud of the progress that I made this semester moving forward in my field of study.  I was fortunate enough to create a PR campaign for a real-life client from Grand Rapids, expand my knowledge in graphic design and explore my creativity resulting in a portfolio to show future employers, joining the Advertising Club at GVSU, running the social media for my sorority along with being elected as the Public Relations Vice President of my sorority, and starting a blog that I hope to update regularly in the future.  I really ‘packaged’ myself this semester, and I’m ecstatic to see what’s to come.  I have a lot more to learn, but I’m very appreciative of the chances I’ve taken this year with Advertising.  And with that – my 2016 went out with a bang!  2017 is going to be a year full of self-reflecting, motivation, determination, and perseverance.

Leave a comment